Spam score
55.00%
Complaints this year
2
Total complaints
94
Have had the same call multiple times now. It has been going on for a few months and they won't stop calling.
(02) 8005 0590 - Scam Number
We had two call's from them last night first at 5pm and my mum told them we did not have a computer and asked for there name and number which they gave her. Then at about 8pm they called back and I answered the call. The same usual spin "hello I'm a microsoft technician and you have virisus on your computer". I said it's ok I can fix it myself as I work for 'MICROSOFT" and guess what the phone
went dead silent and they hung up on me. Hopefully they won't be calling back.
These guys have rung here at least 50 times over many months, the latest is now a tirade of verbal abuse and racial comments and swearing profanity to us on the phone by these people, what powers do australian regularity bodies have to shut these clowns down
My mother in law also recieved a call from this mob. They informed her that her computer had a trojan. She informed them that I worked in a high up position in IT and that she will seek my advice and the caller quickly ended the call.
This company is acting un-professionally please be wary if they call you!
If they call me I will endeavour to find out what they are trying to do your computer and provide a detailed report on their actions using logmein.
It still happening.
I had a quiet day so tried to waste as much of their time as possible.
The play was the same ie: We are receiveing error reports from you PC. We can prove to you its your PC with your unique CLSID which was the same on all three of my PC's, which they explained was because I bought them all. (As it turned out my mate's PC has the same number and when asked to return it to me he objected, funny that)
They gave me directions to search for a web sight "Microsoft solution finder" & then type in "allure" which lead me to www.thelivepc.com which had a matching sydney number & had Microsoft solution finder logo. I rang the number after the call to sus it out and it sounded like the same mob, all Indian. I spoke to Cynthia & Marshall Young during their call, you can reach them on (02) 8005 6033 they would love you to call.
I've reported all this to microsoft who also advised that they nore their partners cold call customers in this manner, nore is their an official microsoft solution finder logo.
This kept me amused for about an hour. Cost me nothing and was all good fun.
Beware of this mob!They rang my elderly mother and told her she has a virus on her computer, she doesn't have a computer lol, they became abusive and rude and wouldn't take no for an answer. She got their details, their website is winpctech.net on further investigation I also found this site that has exactly the same contact details,http://globalpchub.com/They prey on the elderly and vulnerable, they are not to be trusted, do not give them your credit card details, they are scammers! Let everyone know about them.Concerned Aussie
I am from Singpaore and got a call from WINDOWS (as they said) and told me that my computer is affected by the malware etc. and this is finishing my computer. Guaranteed the call was from India because they were speaking Hindi language also (as one of my colleague in my office speaks hindi and I can identify few words definiately.)
She asked me to get onto my PC and lead me into the 'Computer Management console', here she asked me to look for any errors marked with red X's, now of course there were because there always is from one thing or another. She asked me to count them and tell her how many, as if I would be scared by the 'dangerous' number of errors.
She then given it to the senior and he lead me into CMD or the 'Command Console' and asked me to run the 'ASSOC' command.
This brings up a list of all the different file extensions being used on my computer, he made out that this was a list of all the virus/tojan programs on my system.
Then he asked me to scroll down and read out the ZFSENDTOTARGET CLSID in order to 'identify' my computer and make sure it was the correct one.
After this I switch off my wi-fi so that nothing can go wrong *(just in case). then they have given me a phone number (funny) saying this is international toll free number i.e. 613900186185 and told me to call him either before 1 pm and at late evening.
I am 100% sure that Microsoft will never call you like this. This is 100% a scam. Please in case if you received the call like this, share it with everyone and don't give any of your important information of your computer. Take care and best of luck.
My mother in law also recieved a call from this mob. They informed her that her computer had a trojan. She informed them that I worked in a high up position in IT and that she will seek my advice and the caller quickly ended the call. This company is acting un-professionally please be wary if they call you! If they call me I will endeavour to find out what they are trying to do your computer and provide a detailed report on their actions using logmein.
Recieved a call today at 13:12 today (27/10/2010) from a representative from WinPcTech and passed on to a next leir Jimmy who is in india. They got me to look at the evebnt viewer and all it's faults by saying I have a computer problem and will help me resolve my issues. Did ask Jimmy if they knew I had a problem in my computer what system was I erunning and was it eitherr 32/64 byte because one can cause a problem with some downloads. Also told that will be given AVG, will be valid till 2018 which I found hard to believe. Got the name of company, phone number, web site address and said I'd check them out on the web to see if they are a scam. Jimmy was nice and with some indepth question he did falter in that asked am I running XP, Vista or Window 7 and he picked the wrong one again making me think a scam especially when they will require of me $100 and gfeel when I ring the number given to me they will ask for probably my banking info which regardless they wouldn't get anyway. Jimmy seemed a bit confused re: term, gatherer and when I mentioned the term backweb he didn't seem to have a clue or glossed over it.Must admit it sounded good at a reasonable price with lots of bonuses to get you in so I do really wisjh it is true but as they say if it's to good to be true it is?Cheers,Hoppy from Alice She Jumps